The Weird and Wonderful from London Collections.

London collections: Menswear has been and gone. And in light of my new interest in Menswear I thought it only right to share with you some of the highlights.

Lets start off with the wierd, wonderful and downright disturbing. These delights were brought to us by J.W Anderson, Sibling, Martine Rose and Fasion East.(from left to right)

Wierdandwonderful

Now I have to say something particularly about the J.W. Anderson collection. I understand pushing stereotypes and androgyny but this to me simply looked like a womenswear collection forced upon men. Almost all of the collection was fitted strapless mini-dresses and skirts. I’m sorry but I don’t get it, its not even drag, its womenswear.

Secondly I want to share with you the collection that could win an award for most confused. This was brought to us by MAN. And simply, I don’t know what was going on, first we got country gents in clogs (modelled a lot by old men with beards) then we got an urban basketball sports vibe, then we got the newsworthy wood masks and then finally some minimalist randomness. Personally I couldn’t keep up, it seemed all over the place. Obviously a collection has to have some variation within it so its not too dull but it also has to have, in my opinion, a running theme. There was no theme, no brand identity and therefore, nothing interesting about it.

MAN complete

 

Now lets turn our attention away from the wrong onto the very very right… in my next post.

Leave a Reply

